## Drake Public Library Board of Trustees Wednesday, July 10, 2024 Annual Board Meeting Minutes

Call to Order: Board-President, Janell Armstrong called the annual meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

Board Members Present: Michelle Moore, Nicole Cox, Mike Cockrum, Dennis Beeson, Kathy Cridlebaugh, Janell

Armstrong, Shelly Baldwin and Kris Hoffman **Board Members Absent:** David Farrell

Library Staff Present: Library Director JeNel Barth

City Staff Present: None

Agenda Approval: Approved as presented

Minutes Approval: The 2023 Annual Meeting Minutes were approved as presented at the August 9, 2023 regular board

meeting.

Visitors/Public Comment: None

## Director's Annual Report: Library Director JeNel Barth reports

- 1) Building: The roof was replaced this year and all the computers were updated thanks to help from the Foundation.
- 2) Kid Stuff: The Children's staff have kept very busy with an increase in numbers of participants in all the various children's programs. There were over 200 participants in the Summer Reading Program. The staff continues to develop and keep relationships with local families and schools.
- 3) Adults: Programming for adults included adult coloring and book chat. The book chat group has been very successful. A passive program of a puzzle in the reading room began a new offering in our circulation of puzzles. The blood pressure cuff table is well used.
- 4) Outreach: Staff implemented 'Librarian's Choice' providing books for patrons with mobility limitations, the StoryWalk installed at the City Park continues to host patrons and JeNel is working to procure new stories.
- 5) Statistics: Circulation numbers continue to improve, especially the Bridges Checkouts.

## **New Business:**

- 1. <u>New Board Trustees:</u> Michele (Shelly) Baldwin and David Farrell have accepted the open positions on the Board
- 2. <u>Election of Officers:</u> Dennis Beeson nominated, Kathy Cridlebaugh seconded, and the board voted to elect the following board members for each position as follows, approved by all.
  - a. President: Janell Armstrong
  - b. Vice President: Nicole Cox
  - c. Secretary: Michelle Moore
- 3. Committee Assignments: President Janell Armstrong reviewed the new committee assignments.

Adjournment: Meeting adjourned by President Janell Armstrong.